Anniversary

To my lovely wife

On this day, six years ago I married my very best friend, a beautiful lady. My wife and I met years ago but circumstances split us apart.  I finally wised up and called her back after 10 years and almost to the date of our first meeting.  When I called and heard her voice mail, I hung up doubting my actions. Not knowing if she would want to talk to me,

I waited a few mins then called back, I left a voice mail that went something like, “Hey this is Brent I’m not sure if you remember or even want to talk to me but I just wanted to see how you was and see how things have been going.”   She reluctantly agreed to meet up with me on a trip to FL where she would be visiting her best friends (and now mine as well). Of course, I had to drive across the state of FL to see her and let her decide if she wanted to pick back up and start dating again. Of course I was at my office Christmas when she called me after she arrived at her friends, I then left my Christmas party in my uniform and drove my company truck which was an emergency road equipment truck with all the flashing lights and all. I knew what I wanted and I wanted HER. She just did not know it then. We went for coffee and talked for a bit. This is also, where I met our now best friends and their kids.  I remember Sarah, their daughter, met me and had asked me if I was going to marry Valerie, then she started singing. “Brent and Valerie sitting in a tree …” You know the rest.  Funny what kids say when they are young.I left not knowing if I would talk to Valerie anymore. To my delighted surprise, she called me back and asked if I wanted to meet up with her on her way home to see another friend in FL. We met for coffee and I must have said the right things since she is now my best friend and wife.  We dated for close to a year where we went from seeing each other every 4 to 6 weeks for a couple days to me getting her a job where I worked in FL. After we were married, we worked and lived 24/7 together for a year and made it through that. We then stopped traveling. Life on the road can be tough when you are newly married, granted she was with me ALL the time. I still loved it and so did she to a point. She could not drive my company truck so she was stuck with me 24/7. Therefore, if she wanted to get away I had to drive her. (maybe crazy!) I admit I am not the easiest person to live with, but what doesn’t tear you apart just makes you stronger.Even after all these challenges, Valerie is still right by my side, and we are happily married.I love this woman more than anything in the world. I am glad that she agreed to meet me in FL and once more on her way home. I am also glad that she hung in there 24/7 during our 1st year of marriage. I am blessed to call Valerie my wonderful wife.

I LOVE YOU!

Happy Anniversary Honey!



4 Responses to Anniversary

  1. Great blog! I truly love how it’s easy on my eyes and the details are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which ought to do the trick! Have a nice day!

  2. angela & lee says:

    awww Brent you are soo sweet! Love the pics! Happy Anniversary!

  3. Donna says:

    Love it nice story

  4. Joel & Allison says:

    Congratulations on your six year anniversary!! Looks like Sarah sang the right song. Glad to have both of you as best friends. We wish you many more happy anniversaries.

Leave a Reply

